What is The Duke of Edinburgh Award?

The Duke of Edinburgh is an award at three levels: Bronze, Silver or Gold. Pupils at KSA sixth form have the opportunity to achieve their Gold qualification.

You achieve your Award by completing a personal programme of activities in four sections (five if you're going for Gold) - Volunteering, Physical, Skills, Expedition and for Gold, a Residential.

You'll find yourself helping people or the community, getting fitter,developing skills, going on an expedition and taking part in a residential activity (Gold only).

The best bit is - you get to choose what you do! Your programme can be full of activities and projects that get you buzzing, and along the way you’ll pick up experiences, friends and talents that will stay with you for the rest of your life.

You can find out more information in this leaflet or on The Duke of Edinburgh Award website.

So why do it?

Because, from the first day to the last it’s a real adventure. Every section gives you something different - that's the fun of it!

You’ll enjoy loads of new experiences, discover talents you never thought you had, and continuously challenge yourself

What do employers think of people who have done The Duke of Edinburgh Award?

Find out here.

Then there’s all the other stuff…

…achieving an Award will give you skills, confidence and a view on life that everyone is looking for, from employers to colleges and universities

...you're getting recognised for doing things you want to do (and may even be doing already)

...you’ll make a difference to other people’s lives and your community,

... be fitter and healthier,

... make new friends and have memories to last you a lifetime.